Local board elections set

Local school board elections will be held as part of budget votes scheduled to take place Tuesday, May 20, throughout the region.


Ticonderoga voters will elect three candidates to three-year terms on the School Board May 20.

Choosing not to run for re election is Paula Besson.

Incumbents John Reele, Sr. and Martin Fitzgerlad will be on the ballot along with resident Seanna Porter.

The vote will take place at both the Ticonderoga High School and the Hague Community Center from noon to 8 p.m.


Voters in Moriah will be looking to fill four vacant seats in the School Board election May 20.

There will be two three-year terms and a one two-year term elected.

Incumbent member Tim Breeyear will be seeking to maintain his seat while Jody Olcott and Terrie Decker will not be seeking re election.

Petitioning for a spot on the board is Sharon Callahan.

Dan Sadowski was appointed to the board last year to serve and one year term and is seeking election to remain on the board.

The two candidates with the highest vote count will carry the three year terms.

Voting will take place from 1 to 8 p.m. There will be a public hearing scheduled May 6 at 6 p.m.

Schroon Lake

The Schroon Lake Central School District will be holding their board election from noon to 8 p.m. at the school.

Voters will be filling two open seats, a five-year term and a three-year term.

Four candidates will be on the ballot, including Robert Claus, a current board member who was appointed this year and is currently serving out the term of a vacated seat.

Board member Dianne Tyrrell has served her term, leaving her seat as the second opening.

The three remaining petitioners are Eric Welch, Bruce Murdock and Terry Wisser.

The candidate with the highest number of votes will be serving the five-year term and the second the three-year term.

Also on the ballot will be a resolution to change board member terms from five to three years, which if passed would take effect in 2015.


Putnam voters to elect one new board member May 20 for a five year term.

Incumbent board member Richard Trudeau, Jr., will face a challenge from petitioner Christy Watrous for the contested seat. The vote is scheduled from 1 to 9 p.m. at the school.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment