Johnsburg Planning Board to be downsized

— The current quorum is four members, and the new quorum will be three.

Although there are only five members currently on the Johnsburg Planning Board, technically it is still a seven-member board since there are two vacancies. And the board can only be downsized, now that the law has been passed, through attrition.

“You can’t just say, ‘we don’t like so-and-so on the Planning Board, so we’re going to downsize it by two members and kick them out,’” Vanselow said. “It has to have a process to it ... It’s by expiration of term.”

The active members are Cork Nester (chair), Roger Smith, Tim Record, Curt Richards and Bill Moos.

Despite numerous attempts to advertise the open position, the town has had a problem attracting people to fill the Planning Board seats.

The board currently has one expired-term vacancy — the seat formerly occupied by Dottie Osterhout, who had served on the Planning Board for more than 22 years before retiring this past winter.

“Her term ran out in February,” Vanselow said. “We did not appoint. We didn’t have anybody who wanted to do it, actually.”

One unexpired-term position was left vacant prior to the May meeting when Janet Konis resigned due to health reasons, according to the May meeting minutes. So when Smith’s term expires in February, Vanselow expects Town Board members to appoint him to Konis’s unexpired term. At that time, the two expired-term vacancies — held by Smith and Osterhout — would be eliminated.

All Planning Board terms are for seven years. There is one alternate position, currently unfilled, and that term is for three years.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment