Essex County primaries set party fields for November

— Several candidates received the party blessing of their constituents with the results of the Sept. 10 primary held throughout Essex County.

In Willsboro, Lorilee Sheehan with 164 votes and incumbent Charles Lustig Jr., with 152 received the Republican nomination for town council, beating out Lane Sayward (129) and incumbent Nancy Huestis (77). Both Sayward and Huestis have filed independent petitions and will be on the Nov. 5 general election ballot as such.

Also in Willsboro, Gregg Dickerson received 198 votes in winning the Republican nomination for town justice over Clarence Russell (71), while Reginald Bedell scored a win in the Democratic primary for the same position with a 27-10 edge over Paula Lincoln. Both Russell and Lincoln have filed independent petitions.

In the primary for Willsboro town clerk, Bridgett Brown pulled off the largest margin of victory, securing the Republican nod with 227 votes against 54 for Richard Sayward. Sayward has filed an independent petition.

In Westport, Steven Viens with 27 votes and incumbent Russell Paquette with 24 earned the Democratic nod in the race for town council, while Gerald Goulet received 18 votes. Goulet has registered as an independent.

Gary Manley received 121 votes to earn the Republican nomination in the race for Keene Highway Superintendent, running against Ryan Hall, who received 18 votes. Hall is registered independent.

In Lewis, Kathleen Robertson received 51 votes in the Republican primary for tax collector, while Brenda Sullivan received 38 votes. Sullivan had filed an independent petition.

Incumbent Gerald Bruce also earned the Republican nomination in the race for Wilmington town clerk, receiving 26 votes compared to 13 cast for Linda Lawrence, who filed an independent petition.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment