Towns set for contested races

— While only four towns in the Valley have a contested election for town supervisor, several other towns have contested elections in other positions Nov. 5.

One race, however has already been decided.

The race between incumbent Robert Minogue, Rodney Dockum and Rosamond Lincoln-Day for the position of Jay town justice will be void after residents of the town voted by permissive referendum to eliminate the position up for election as of the end of this year.

Races that count in Jay include town council, where incumbents Archie Depo and Amy Shalton face a challenge from Fred Balzac. Incumbent Christopher Garrow will run against William Lincoln for the position of highway superintendent, while Valerie Coolidge and Tina Fenton will run for the position of tax collector.

Other contested elections include:

Chesterfield: Town council — Clayton Barber (Ri), Richard Klages (i), Brian LaFountain (i)

Keene: Highway Superintendent — Gary Manley (Ri), Ryan Hall (Ri)

Lewis: Tax Collector — Kathleen Robertson (R), Brenda Sullivan (Ri), Amy Chapuk (i)

Wilmington: Town Clerk — Gerald Bruce (Ri) and Linda Lawrence (Ri)

Voting takes place from 6 a.m. until 9 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment