Winners of PBS writers contest announced

The winners of the annual “Kids Go! Writers Contest,” sponsored by Mountain Lake PBS.

The winners of the annual “Kids Go! Writers Contest,” sponsored by Mountain Lake PBS.

— On Tuesday, April 30, Mountain Lake PBS honored the winners of its “PBS Kids Go! Writers Contest.”

The contest invited children from kindergarten through third grade to submit stories they wrote and illustrated for judging.

Local entries that won first place will be entered into the national level of the contest, where a panel of judges will select the national winners.

“Kids naturally have a keen sense of curiosity and incredible imaginations,” said Jane Owens, Mountain Lake PBS Director of Outreach and Education, in a press release. “The ‘PBS Kids Go! Writers Contest’ provides a safe forum for our region’s children to express their ideas while fostering key early literacy skills like story-telling.”

To help celebrate this year’s winners, local author and illustrator Sheri Amsel demonstrated her method for illustration in an interactive presentation with the contest winners.

The celebration will be broadcast in a 30-minute special on Mountain Lake PBS on June 27 at 8:30 p.m. and on June 29th at 6 p.m.

To see photos from the celebration and to read the winning stories, visit: mountainlake.org/education/pbs-kids-go-writers-contest

The winners of the annual PBS “Kids Go! Writers Contest” are:

Kindergarten: Winner: Miriam Sayward. Honorable Mentions: Ava Doorey, Joseph Mitchell and Anthony Zurlo.

First Grade: Winner: Kye LaMarche. Honorable Mentions: Phoebe Glennon, Aiden Pearl, Sarah Pound and Kade Sellars.

Second Grade: Winner: Gideon Sayward. Honorable Mention: Galen Halasz, Kate LaPoint, Andrew Scanio and Alexa Turner.

Third Grade: Winner: Harper R. Wolff. Honorable Mention: Kaylin Barnaby, Travis Bowman, Eleanor Crowley and Maria Zurlo.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment