Essex County races start to take shape

— The two candidates that ran for the Elizabethtown supervisor position in 2011 will rematch in November.

Current Elizabethtown Supervisor Margaret Bartley and her predecessor, Noel Merrihew, each filed party-designating petitions for the Nov. 5 General Election with the Essex County Board of Elections, two of more than 130 filed before the July 11 close of business deadline.

“This is going to be an exciting year,” Republican Commissioner Allison McGahay said.

In the 2011 election, Bartley, who is registered as a Democrat, defeated Merrihew, registered as a Republican, 254-238, in a hotly contested race.

Elizabethtown will also see a race for town council with Democratic incumbent Evelyn Hatch having filed along with Republicans William Wright, Jr. and Richard Olcott.

William Garrison and Michael Doyle both filed Republican petitions for town justice, while Debra Brooks filed a Republican petition for town clerk/tax collector and Michael Drew submitted a Republican petition for highway superintendent.

The most active political battlefield will be in Willsboro, where races for supervisor, town council, town justice, and town clerk will all be contested.

For Supervisor, incumbent Democrat Ed Hatch will seek re-election against current Republican town councilman Shaun Gilliland.

In the race for town clerk, Bridget Brown and Richard Sayward will face off in a Sept. 10 Republican Primary for the position vacated by the retirement of Beverly Moran.

For town justice, Democrats Reginald Bedell and Paula Lincoln submitted petitions along with Republicans Gregg Dickerson and Clarence Russell, Jr.

Four Republicans are seeking two town council seats and will be involved in a Sept. 10 primary, including incumbents Charles Lustig, Jr. and Nancy Huestis and challengers Lane Sayward and Lorilee Sheehan. Democrat John “Jack” Thompson also filed a petition.

Bryon Moran filed a Republican petition for the position of superintendent of highways.

Minerva will also be the home to a supervisor race, where incumbent Sue Montgomery-Corey will face a Sept. 10 primary election against current town councilman Stephen McNally. In the race for town council, Peter McNally filed a Democratic petition for one of two seats along with Republican incumbent Keith Dubay and Republican Douglas McCall.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment