Lacrosse tournament brings some of the best to Lake Placid

The 24th Annual Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Classic was a good economic boost for the Adirondack region.

The 24th Annual Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Classic was a good economic boost for the Adirondack region. Photo provided

— Hoya alums will include attackmen Greg McCavera, Andy Flick and Pete Velepec, defensemen Greg Papa, Chris Tully and Brian Samson, middies Greg Lawler, Mike Henehan, Keith Baker, Tom Tamberino, Matt Gallagher, Art Price and Scott Doyle, and goalie Danny Mooney.

The Cornell University alumni team, known as the Big Red Steelheads, is a national lacrosse club comprised of four decades of past and current Cornell Big Red players. The Lake Placid tournament is on their schedule each summer.

As much as the Steelheads enjoy the competition, they also pursue a loftier mission. The team is the brainchild of former Big Red goalie Matthew Norfolk, now a Lake Placid attorney. Norfolk formed the team to honor college roommate and teammate David Holder.

The player, who wore number 28 and graduated in 1995, succumbed to a rare form of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma in 2008.

“David touched the lives of many of the Cornell lacrosse family and was a great competitor on and off the lacrosse field,” said Norfolk. “It is the goal of the Big Red Steelheads to include more past and present players to compete for many years to come in the Lake Placid Summit Tournament, and celebrate being a part of the Cornell lacrosse family and tradition, while raising money for the David L. Holder Education Foundation. It’s a not-for-profit organization committed to supporting organizations that David cared about, and build new, enduring relationships and programs in the communities that he supported.”

Ohio Wesleyan University alums have been a fixture in Lake Placid since 2006, bringing players to the event that initially carved the school’s lacrosse name on the national landscape.

In addition, the alumni field will include teams from Union College, Colgate University, the University of Pennsylvania, Nazareth College, Princeton, Denison University, the University of Virginia, Syracuse University, Johns Hopkins, the University of Massachusetts and others.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment