Au Sable Forks fast pitch adds new teams

The Au Sable Forks Fast Pitch Softball Tournament begins July 12.

The Au Sable Forks Fast Pitch Softball Tournament begins July 12. Photo by Keith Lobdell.

— The 51st Au Sable Forks Men’s Fast Pitch Tournament will feature the addition of two teams and the return of a Friday night crowd favorite.

The annual event gets under way the opening game Friday, July 12, at 6:30 p.m. with a new format that features 12 teams competing in four pools, up from the usual 10-team field.

“We have had so many applications from other teams in the past, we wanted to open it up and give a couple more teams the chance to come in and play,” tournament program director Gene Gilbert said. “We have a couple new teams that are coming up from the New York City area. These are going to be some really class-A ball teams.”

The event will also feature the return of the Friday night fireworks show, something that was held for the first time to help commemorate the tournament’s 50th anniversary last year.

“We got such a huge response to the Friday night fireworks that we are going to do it again,” Gilbert said.

The opening night games will feature the hosts as Gordon Oil will take on the Barrhaven Blues (Ottawa, Ont.) at 6:30 p.m. July 12 and Razzano’s Trucking will take on CPI/Classics (Oswego) at 8:30 p.m.

Saturday games on field one will start at 9 a.m. and feature Scooters (Forestport) against St. Henri (Quebec), CPI Classics against Knoxville, Mountain Brook Lodge Blitz (Wilmington/Ottawa, Ont.) against Donnacona Blue Sox (Quebec), Barrhaven against New York Bombers (Cortland) and Carp 14C (Carp, Ont.) against St. Henri. Playoffs will then begin at approximately 6:15 p.m. with the Pool A winner against the Pool B runner up and Pool C winner against the Pool D runner up.

On field two, Saturday games will start at 8:30 a.m. and include Swashbucklers (Staten Island) against Mountain Brook Lodge/Blitz, Gordon Oil against the Bombers, Carp 14C against Scooters, Razzano’s against Knoxville and the Blue Sox against the Swashbucklers. The Pool B winner will have the Pool B runner up at 5:30 p.m.

On Sunday, the tournament will continue on field one with the Pool D winner and Pool C runner up at 9 a.m. Semifinal games will be held at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m., followed by the championship game at 3 p.m.

On field two, the third place teams in Pool C and D will play at 9:30 a.m., while the third place teams in Pool A and B will play at 11:30 a.m.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment