Vehicle tax halted by Essex County Board of Supervisors

Moriah Supervisor Tom Scozzafava

Moriah Supervisor Tom Scozzafava

— Town of Elizabethtown Supervisor Margaret Bartley said she would be in support of holding a public hearing to see where county residents feel increases should be made to alleviate the deficit.

Town of Westport Supervisor Dan Connell said he would not support the law and after hearing from residents in his town no public meeting would be necessary.

Preston was joined by Randy Douglas (Jay, board chairman), Bill Ferebee (Keene, board vice chair), David Blades (Lewis), Roby Politi (North Elba) and Charles Whitson (St. Armand) in favor of drafting the law.

Along with Scozzafava, Connell, Morrow and Bartley, dissenters included Charles Harrington (Crown Point), Sharon Boisen (Essex), George Canon (Newcomb), Ronald Moore (North Hudson), Michael Marnell (Schroon), Deb Malaney (Ticonderoga) and Ed Hatch (Willsboro). Minerva Supervisor Sue Montgomery Corey was absent for the vote.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment