Winter sports season shows signs of success for several local teams

Leading the valley in scoring is AuSable Valley’s Shane Douglas, who has connected on 105 field goals, 26 coming from beyond the three point arch, to go along with 31 free throws made for 267 points (20.5). Charlie Huttig of ELCS, who leads the valley in three-pointers (33) and is second in free throws (42), has scored 232 points (15.5).

Willsboro’s Nick Arnold currently ranks third in scoring with 226 points (16.1) while ranking first in free throws (44) and fourth in three pointers (14). However, Arnold will be sidelined for the rest of the season after injuring his leg last week.

Westport’s Ryan Davis is third in free throws made (34) and has scored 186 points (14.3). He is followed by Zac Noka-Bailey of ELCS who has 152 points (10.1), AuSable Valley’s John Goodnough with 146 points (11.2), Keene’s Colton Venner, who is tied with Davis at 34 free throws made and has scored 139 points (9.9). Zach Cosgrove of AuSable Valley has connected on 19 three-pointers (third in valley) and has scored 127 points (9.8), while Keene’s Gabe Warner has scored 119 points (8.5) and Willsboro’s Seth Swires 114 (7.6).

Austin Morris of ELCS is tied with Arnold with 14 three pointers made.

In bowling, the AuSable Valley boys team has collected 102 wins on the season, while Willsboro has 23. The Patriot’s Mike McDonald owns the highest single game (267) and series (730) between the two teams. In games, he is followed by teammate Josh Taylor (258), Willsboro’s Dakoda Latford (252) and Patriots Jimmy Provost (248) and Roger Preston (245). Latford holds the second highest series of the year with a 686 and is followed by Preston (638), Willsboro’s Tyler Bridge (610) and AuSable Valley’s Brandon Ano (603).

For the girls, Willsboro has claimed 36 wins on the season, with the Lady Patriots earning nine. The Warriors own the top five highest single games of the season with Gabi Yeager (226), Kaitlyn Arthur (217), Alyson Arnold (200), Emily Mero (170) and Lilly Kelly (167) followed by AuSable Valley’s Marissa Prentiss (161). The top series of the year so far belongs to Yeager (572), followed by Arnold (519), Arthur (472), Mero (444) and Prentiss (429).

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment