Quantcast

Spring sports preview: Willsboro

Willsboro's Renee Marcotte throws the ball.

Willsboro's Renee Marcotte throws the ball. Photo by Keith Lobdell.

Schedules

Willsboro softball

Monday, April 15.... v. Schroon Lake

Wednesday, April 17.... at Elizabethtown-Lewis

Friday, April 19.... bye

Monday, April 22.... v. Westport

Wednesday, April 24.... v. Chazy

Friday, April 26.... at Wells

Monday, April 29.... at Crown Point

Wednesday, May 1.... v. Johnsburg

Friday, May 3.... at Keene

Monday, May 6.... at Schroon Lake

Wednesday, May 8.... v. Elizabethtown-Lewis

Friday, May 10.... v. Indian Lake/Long Lake

Monday, May 13.... at Westport

Wednesday, May 15.... at Chazy

Friday, May 17.... at Minerva/Newcomb

Monday, May 20.... v. Crown Point

Willsboro golf

Monday, April 29.... v. Elizabethtown-Lewis

Wednesday, May 1.... v. Westport

Friday, May 3.... at Crown Point

Monday, May 6.... at Schroon Lake

Wednesday, May 8.... bye

Friday, May 10.... at Elizabethtown-Lewis

Monday, May 13.... at Westport

Wednesday, May 15.... v. Crown Point

Friday, May 17.... v. Schroon Lake

Monday, May 20.... bye

Thursday, May 23.... Sectionals at Saranac Inn

Friday, May 24.... Sectionals at Saranac Inn

Golf

The Willsboro Warriors varsity golf team will seek to claim the Mountain and Valley Athletic Championship this season as they will look to several returning starters in 2013.

“The team has many returning starters that have a few years of experience,” coach John Oliver said. “Seth Swires, Dakoda Latford, Nick Arnold, Tyler Bridge and Walker Lobdell are all capable of shooting low and will need to if we hope to unseat Elizabethtown-Lewis as the reigning MVAC champions.”

Oliver’s team will also include returning players Lee Sloper, Eric Manning, Connor Sheehan and Jack Oliver, along with newcomers Lindsay Lane, Tanner Graves, Paul Fine-Lease, James Barber, Warren Jackson, Adam Mero, Brett Stevenson and Ethan Cross.

Softball

The Willsboro Lady Warriors varsity softball team is returning a solid core of players and will seek consistency on the pitchers mound in 2013.

"We should be very competitive if our pitchers can throw strikes," head coach David Lee said. "We have five seniors back that started and a nucleus of juniors and sophomores. We have good team speed and should be able to put the bat on the ball. This team should be in every game."

Returning starters include seniors Kyli Swires, Renee Marcotte, Alyson Arnold, Gabrielle Coonrod, Emily Mero and junior Taylor Crowningshield.

Also on the Warriors roster are senior Katherine Aberle, juniors Tiffani Tromblee, Bridget Moran, Andrea O'Hare, and sophomores Rachael Burt, Tori Wade, Stephanie Blanchard and Kelsey Sloper.

0
Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment