Quantcast

TUPPER LAKE LUMBERJACKS

Katie Stuart at the foul line.

Katie Stuart at the foul line. Photo by Keith Lobdell.

Schedule

Thursday, Nov. 29... at Saranac Lake

Friday, Nov. 30... v. Canton

Tuesday, Dec. 4... v. Norwood-Norfolk

Thursday, Dec. 6... v. Saranac Lake

Tuesday, Dec. 11... at St. Lawrence

Tuesday, Dec. 18... v. Brushton-Moira

Friday, Dec. 21... at St. Regis Falls

Friday, Dec. 28... at St. Regis tournament

Saturday, Dec. 29... at St. Regis tournament

Friday, Jan. 4... v. Parishville-Hopkinton

Monday, Jan. 7... at Madrid-Waddington

Thursday, Jan. 10... v. Chateaugay

Thursday, Jan. 17... v. Madrid-Waddington

Friday, Jan. 25... at Norwood-Norfolk

Tuesday, Jan. 29... at Canton

Thursday, Jan. 31... v. St. Lawrence

Monday, Feb. 4... v. Colton-Pierrepont

Thursday, Feb. 7... at Brushton-Moira

Lady Lumberjacks seek to reclaim Section X/Class C championship

TUPPER LAKE — While the Tupper Lake Lady Lumberjacks varsity basketball team will look to replace several players from the Section X championship team, they will have the league’s co-MVP back.

“We lost seven seniors from our Section X Championship squad last season,” Jennifer Cook said. “We return with our leading scorer and NAC East Division Co-MVP Katie Stuart. I have high expectations for her as she enters her senior season. She will need to continue to be our team leader and maintaining that MVP level of play.”

Cook said there are several players that she will look to as they see their roles increased.

“We also return Lizzie Zurek and Lindsey Maroun from last year's squad,” she said. “They will move into starting roles this season. I will need my three returning players to step up and play at a high level in order for us to be successful.”

Cook said that the rest of the team is still coming into focus, but hopes to be right back in the hunt for a sectional title.

“Girls will work hard and fight for those last two spots in practice everyday until our first game to see who comes out on top,” she said. “Of course we set high expectations here and would like to return to the Section X title and repeat. In order to do that we will have to work hard from day one and improve individual skill to be better as a team.”

0
Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment