Committee thankful

To the Times of Ti:

On Saturday, April 28, Literacy Volunteers of Essex/Franklin Counties held its 10th annual Spelling Bee at Harrietstown Town Hall in Saranac Lake. Eleanor Sweeney and Kama Prellwitz claimed first place, followed by Melina Mathers and Stephen King. Kathy Merritt and Evelyn Outcalt took third place.

A big thanks to Harrietstown Town Hall for providing the space for the event and to our judges, Bonnie Birk and Robert Schiller. We would also like to thank our pronouncers, Karen Butters and Linda Warner, and our Master of Ceremonies Cheryl Schiller, Sandy Woods our score keeper, and Darlene Spinner who ran the kitchen.

A special thanks to the following individuals and businesses that sponsored a team: Delta Kappa Gamma (Beta Mu Chapter), Ellen and Mike Dargento, Reber Fire Company, Rita-Ann FitzGerald, Chuck and Ann Gibson, Carol Leary, Mullarney’s Garden Center, Walsh and Edwards Attorneys at Law, Gordan W. Pratt Agency, Leroux Oil Company, William and Karen McGee, New Life Christian Academy, and Saranac Lake Village at Will Rogers.

We would also like to thank all of those participated and hope to see you next year!

Maria Burke, director

and the LV Fundraising Committee

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment