Residency no longer a requirement in Essex County

Board of Supervisors rescinds employee regulation

The Essex County Board of Supervisors

The Essex County Board of Supervisors Photo by Keith Lobdell.

— "We hire the most qualified person," Morrow said. "If they live in the town, we give them preference. My constituents have said they would rather pay for a qualified person."

"There are cases where they need to go out of county," Schroon Supervisor Michael Marnell said. "I don't think we can restrict them. You can have the rules, but you might have to break them as some point."

Moore, Connell, Scozzafava, and Crown Point Supervisor Charles Harrington voted against the rescinding of the residency policy.

Board members Margaret Bartley (Elizabethtown), William Ferebee (Keene) and board chairman Randy Douglas (Jay) were not in attendance, as they were in Washington, D.C. for meetings with federal legislators. Wilmington Supervisor Randy Preston and St. Armand Supervisor Joyce Morency were also absent.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment