Mayors Cup Boat Parade winners celebrate at the Turtle

Mayor Donald Kasprazak and Sue Durocher welcome guests to the award ceremony on July 14 at the Naked Turtle.

Mayor Donald Kasprazak and Sue Durocher welcome guests to the award ceremony on July 14 at the Naked Turtle. Photo by Katherine Clark.

PLATTSBURGH — Colorful pontoons, house boats, Hacker crafts, paddleboarders and kayakers lit up the Plattsburgh Boat Basin for the Sixth annual Boat Parade of Lights Competition on July 12.

On July 14, the Mayors Cup Committee presented to the winners at a special ceremony at the Naked Turtle.

Mayor Donald Kasprazak, Head of the Mayors Cup Committee Jack Snyder, and President of the Plattsburgh Mayors Cup Committee Sue Durocher presented the winners.

“Don’t blame the mayor if your name does not appear here,” Kasprazak joked before they began handing out awards.

The group began the ceremony by presenting The "Spirit of Ianelli" community award to Roger Harwood for his work on the lake, giving tours of Valcour Island Light House, maintaining Crab Island, his work to help raise a cannon from the bottom of Lake Champlain used during the battle of Plattsburgh and Durocher said “making the best corn casserole and bread pudding.”

The "Spirit of Ianelli" community award was started in 2010 in honor of the late Mayor John Ianelli, co-founder of the Mayor’s Cup Regatta. It is bestowed upon one individual who represents, in their own small way the power of community action and empowers the Plattsburgh community to thrive, not only on race day, but everyday.

The grand prize winner was the Souvenir Ship captained by Skipper Craig Meyerson.

For best paddle power, Patty and Dave Husband won with their fleet from the Kayak Shack.

For boats less than 23 feet, Ken Anderson won first place for his boat Litty Bit; for second place Olaf Franzon won in his boat The Viking; and in third place, John Rock won with his boat Miss Crab Island.

For boats in the 24 to 30 foot category, tied at first place were Jim Waldren with his boat Sweet Escape and Bob Bunnell in his Party Barge.

For the 31 foot and longer category Craig Meyerson and his boat Souvenir took first place, JP Turgeon and his boat Galilee took second place and for third place Don Dudley and Real Escape won.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment