Wrestling titles on the line Feb. 11

Section VII tournament Saturday

— Peru’s Nick Forget is the top seed at 138 with a 31-3 record, and will advance to the finals where he will face either Northern Adirondack’s Matt Carter (25-12) or Saranac’s Dylan Spellman (2-10).

Noah Phillips will be the top seed for the Indians at 145, coming into the tournament with an unblemished 37-0 record. Those trying to put a mark in the right column against Phillips include Northern Adirondack’s Hunter Carpenter (26-6), Saranac’s Will Marcil (11-11) and Beekmantown’s Casey LeClair (9-14).

Jackson Sunderland will be a top seed for Northern Adirondack at 152, having only lost twice compared to 27 wins. Others in the weight class include Josh Wright of Peru (29-12), Joe Perry of Saranac (19-11), Zackery Myers of Beekmantown (27-12) and Keith Christensen on AuSable Valley (6-14).

Returning sectional champion Justin Kellett enters the tournament with a 37-1 record as the top seed at 160, joined by Beekmantown’s Dylan Peryea (23-8), AuSable Valley’s Kodie Simpson (11-16), Peru’s Caleb Feazelle (19-23) and Saranac’s Nick Charland (2-9).

Peru’s third wrestler to enter the tournament with an undefeated record, two- time returning sectional champion Troy Seymour, is the top seed at 170 with 36 wins on the season. He will face either Beekmantown’s Brandon Defayette (28-9) or Saranac’s James Black (11-19) in the finals.

Northern Adirondack’s Garrett Gero is the top seed at 182 with a 29-11 record, in a bracket that includes Saranac’s Nate Wood (25-7), Beekmantown’s Gage Bourdeau (32-8) and AuSable Valleys Matt LaMere (19-8).

Ben Perry of Saranac is a defending sectional champion and enters the 195 tournament with a perfect 29-0 record which will also be contested by Northern Adirondack’s Dallas Page (14-11), Beekmantown’s Codie LaPlante (10-13), AuSable Valley’s Collin Fuller (4-8) and Peru’s Taylor Avanzato (2-16).

At 220, Luke McKee of Peru is the top seed with a 26-7 record and will be joined in the bracket by Saranac’s Paul Herrera (19-11), Northern Adirondack’s Russell Noel (15-8) and AuSable Valley’s Dustin Drake (2-8).

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment