CVPH Medical Center has successful 2011

Stephens Mundy, President and CEO of CVPH Medical Center.

Stephens Mundy, President and CEO of CVPH Medical Center. Photo by Stephen Bartlett.

— Last year proved to be a successful one for CVPH Medical Center, says President and Chief Executive Officer Stephens Mundy.

This occurred despite ongoing pressures related to health care reform.

Mundy spoke at the annual meeting of the CVPH Corporation.

He said outpatient services continue to grow.

The new Cardiac Short Stay Unit introduced in late January served approximately 1,200 people, Mundy said.

“CVPH is now able to offer private rooms to 70 percent of its inpatients, which adds greatly to satisfaction.”

Other highlights of the year included the opening of a third cardiac catheterization laboratory in January, expansion of the Emergency Care Center in September and recruitment of seven new physicians and six allied health professionals to the CVPH Medical staff. Applications are pending for an additional six physicians and one allied health provider.

Average daily volumes in 2011 included 3 births, 28 inpatient admissions, 63 surgeries, 136 emergency department visits, and an inpatient census of 272. There were also 60 daily visits to the FitzPatrick Cancer Center, 81 clinic visits, 149 visits to the CVPH Diagnostic Center and 227 therapy treatments.

The above resulted in net patient revenues of $294,824,993 for the year, which exceeded operating expenses by $7,469,569 for an operating margin of 2.5 percent. Revenues were up more than $17 million from 2010, while the operating margin was down slightly more than $464,000.

A new five-year plan was unveiled at the annual meeting held at Clinton Community College and attended by about 150 members of the CVPH Corporation. The plan focuses on creating an exceptional patient experience; employee collaboration, engagement and satisfaction; physician relations; information and knowledge through technology; affiliations and partnerships and creating value through quality and financial health.

Officers of the Board of Directors remain unchanged with John Masella, Chairman; Matthew Boire, Vice-Chairman; Alice Recore, Treasurer; and Howard Black, M.D., Secretary.

Board members include David Anderson, M.D.; Herb Carpenter; Harold Chaskey, M.D.; Alex Edwards; John Ettling, PhD; Virginia Hay; Adore Flynn-Kurtz; Linda Luck, PhD; Drew Sabella; Robert Smith; and Curt Snyder, M.D.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment