Tournament aids scholarship

To the Times of Ti:

The seventh annual Brian T. Carpenter Memorial Golf Tournament was hosted at the Moriah Country Club on Saturday, Aug. 4. The enthusiasm and support of all involved made the event a fun and fabulous success. Monies raised fund the Brian T. Carpenter Memorial Scholarship, awarded to an Moriah Central School senior each year. Congratulations to Santana Martinez, the 2012 recipient!

Everyone’s participation in this event is a great tribute to Brian’s memory, and we thank you all for your ongoing support.

The event would not be the success it is without the help of all who volunteer their time before and during the tournament. We’d like to thank this year’s volunteers: Steve and Carrie Popp, Kathy Wagstaff, Anna, Jim and Mike Mayhood, Julie Ida, Jo Mydlarz, the Russos, the McGrath family, Michelle Giordano, Rick Carpenter, the Bradfords, the Castillo families, Deanna Colburn, Kate LaVigne, and Baron, Jared Hammond, Michael Schmidtt. Special thanks to Steve Schaeffer Adirondack Heritage Hogs for another fantastic pig roast! If we have forgotten anybody, it is completely unintentional, we apologize; you are very appreciated.

We were honored this year to have Jeff Bradford and New York Life sponsor a $10,000 Hole-In-One Prize, Fisher Hill Wood Products’ donation of two picnic tables to raffle, and Crown Point Telephone’s sponsoring the First Hole. Additionally, we received a record number of monetary and raffle basket donations and would like to extend our thanks to: Moriah Country Club, Christmas House of Elmira, Mineville Oil, Cutting Excavation, Celotti’s Wines & Spirits, Molly Westover and The Old Mine Saloon, George’s, Deckers Flats Greenhouse, Kay Wagstaff, Kathy Wagstaff, GlassBeadStore.com, Warren Getz, Paul Salerno, Chris Ida, Kate LaVigne, Anna Mayhood, Coach Gilbo, Carrie Popp, Blue Water Manor, Lake George Shorelines, Stella Blaise and the Lee House Residents, LightWorks Reiki & Yoga, Fleury’s Deli & Grocery, Doug McLaughlin, Peter Belzer, Richard Franchella, Eugene Williams, Jill Shpur, Terry Furlani, Marianne Franchella, Knights of Columbus of Port Henry and Jeff and Tania Bradford.

Congratulations to the Tournament Winners: Morning -1st = P. Belzer & P. Belzer; 2nd = K. Ida & D. Scozzafava, 3rd= D. Tesar & T. Tesar ; Closest to Pin= P. Belzer, C. Nephew; Skins = Tesar & Tesar, Ida & Scozzafava. Afternoon – 1st = E. Tyrell & G. Shaughnesy; 2nd = K. Anderson & S. Gilbo; 3rd = B. Cross & L. Cross. Closest to Pin= R. Lawless, B. Cross; Skins = Anderson & Gilbo, Ida & Tesar, Cross & Cross.

Our sincere appreciation. See you all again next year.

Tom, Luci and Jackie Carpenter


Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment