Quantcast

Spring Sports preview: Lake Placid Blue Bombers

Danielle Ballestrini

Danielle Ballestrini Photo by Keith Lobdell.

What the coaches say:

“We have a larger team this year due to the merger with Saranac Lake, as well as middle school students who passed the selection/classification tests. Although many players are new there are some who have already shown potential. We do have a few returning players who will keep the level of competition high, even in practice. The seniors will be key in maintaining a high level of expectations for the team as a whole. On a personal level this is my first year coaching tennis.” - girls head coach Jennifer Lawrence.

“We will be a contender for a championship team. The rest is up to luck and hard work.” - boys head coach George Bailey.

The schedule:

Wednesday, April 25 v. NCCS

Monday, April 30 at Plattsburgh

Wednesday, May 2 v. Beekmantown

Monday, May 7 at AuSable

Wednesday, May 9 v. Saranac Central

Monday, May 14 at Peru

Wednesday, May 16 v. Seton Catholic

Monday, May 21 v. NAC

Blue Bombers Baseball

The schedule

Monday, April 16 at Ticonderoga

Friday, April 20 at AuSable

Monday, April 23 at Plattsburgh

Wednesday, April 25 v. Beekmantown

Monday, April 30 v. NAC

Tuesday, May 1 v. Saranac Lake

Thursday, May 3 at Moriah

Saturday, May 5 at NCCS

Tuesday, May 8 v. Ticonderoga

Thursday, May 10 v. Peru

Monday, May 14 at Saranac Central

Thursday, May 17 v. AuSable

Saturday, May 19 at NAC

Tuesday, May 22 v. Moriah

Lady Blue Bombers Softball

The roster:

The Lake Placid varsity girls softball team will take to the field with seniors Dani Balestrini and Ayla Thompson; juniors Brooke Reid, Serina Hayes, Kelsey Taylor, Haley Brandes and Makenzee Bruce; sophomores Alexa Whitney, Adele Jesmer, Alexis Megliore and Emily Godin; along with freshman Payton Barney.

What the coach says:

“We are returning three players this year, senior captains Ayla Thompson and Dani Balestrini and junior Haley Brandes. Joining the returners are four juniors, three sophmores, and one freshman. This year we look to continue to improve defensively and play aggressively on offense.” - Head coach Donna Moody.

0
Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment