Spring Sports preview: Lake Placid Blue Bombers

Blue Bombers track and field

The roster:

The Lady Blue Bombers will enter the 2012 track and field season with a roster that includes Nina Armstrong, Rachael Ashley, Adela Burka, Kate Gallagher, Carleigh Garrett, Jillian Goulette, Kendra Manning, Sage Miller, Briana Munoz, Esther Munoz and Molly Smith.

The boys roster includes Corey Detwiler, Connor Garrett, Trevor Knapp, Andrew Meister, Curtis Rissberger, Elias Smith, Haile Thompson and Hunter Wilson.

What the coaches say:

“The Lake Placid team is small and allows for more individualized coaching. We are new to coaching track and field, but have years of experience in coaching running in addition to experience in track and field competitions themselves. The team has been working hard in pre-season to get ready for a successful season. There are multiple returning athletes who have strong work ethics and have been leading the team. These athletes include Elias Smith, Andrew Meister, Curtis Rissberger, Connor Garrett, Molly Smith, Kate Gallagher, Esther Munoz, Bri Munoz and Rachael Ashley. Other athletes had to join later in the pre-season due to conflict with the school play – but are working hard to build a strong base and prepare for competition. We have a strong team in all distances on the track, in addition to depth in our girl’s mid- distance relay event. The team has strength in the jumping field events.” - Coaches Bill and Mel Frazer.

The schedule:

Tuesday, April 24 at Ticonderoga

Tuesday, May 1 v. Seton Catholic

Thursday, May 3 at Plattsburgh

Tuesday, May 8 at AuSable

Thursday, May 10 v. Beekmantown

Thursday, May 17 v. Saranac Lake

Tuesday, May 22 at EKMW

Blue Bombers tennis

The rosters:

The Blue Bombers boys tennis roster will include Nick Stosiek, Keegan Barney, Alex Jelinek, Justin Stosiek, David Knapik, Chris Kordziel, Joel Silver, Will Coffrin, Nik Kobe, Cody Barry, Matt Jelinek and Steven Jelinek. The girls roster includes Mikayla Ploof, Whitney Callaghan, Stephanie Strack, Emma Miller, Jackie Parker, Debbie Soir, Rachel Chris, Sophie Morrelli, Joan O'leary, Cameron Brooks, Serena Hallowel, Natalia Smith, Victoria O'leary, Brenna Garrett, Liza Marinis, Grace McGrew and Kayla Hudson.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment