Marnell elected Schroon supervisor

North Hudson too close to call

— Michael Marnell will be the next Schroon supervisor.

Marnell, a Republican, received 399 votes Nov. 8 to turn back independent Meg Wood, who had 285 votes. Dennis Christian, whose name was on the ballot but who had withdrawn from the race, got 28 votes.

Marnell will replace Cathy Moses, who is retiring.

Republicans Clara Phibbs and Don Sage were elected to the Schroon town board. Phibbs received 479 votes and Sage 443. Mark Whitney, a Democrat, got 290 votes and independent Bruce Caza got 90.

Dana Shaughnessy, a Republican, was re-elected highway superintendent with 543 votes. Dale Pecor had 175.

Running unopposed, Republican Pat Savarie was re-elected town clerk/tax collector with 652 votes, while Richard Schoenstadt (435 votes) and Richard Newell (339 votes) were re-elected assesors.

North Hudson

Absentee ballots will determine the next North Hudson supervisor. Hugh Myrtle, a Democrat, received 72 votes. Republican Ronald Moore got 69. Five absentee ballots are oustanding.

Kevin Duntley, a Republican, received 129 votes to win highway superintendent. Donald Langworthy, a Democrat, got 13 votes.

In uncontested races Democrat Sally Vinskus was elected town clerk with 91 votes, Republicans Laureen DeZalia (112 votes) and Donald Dresser (100 votes) were elected to the town board, Democrats John Wilson (89 votes) and Michael Marsden (96 votes) were elected assessors and Republican Martha King was elected tax collector with 106 votes.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment