Leading students join Ticonderoga honor society

TICONDEROGA -Character defines a person.

That was the message delivered to new members of the Ticonderoga High School National Honor Society Black Watch Chapter during induction ceremonies recently.

Matt Courtright, executive director of the Ticonderoga Area Chamber of Commerce and a Ti High graduate, served as guest speaker. He urged the new honor society members to develop their character and to be thankful for those who help instill values in their lives.

Courtright spoke of the impact many key people had on his life, especially his father. Courtright urged the new inductees to recognize the gifts they have been given and honor those who are important to them.

Character is one of the four qualities required for membership in the National Honor Society. The others are scholarship, service and leadership.

Black Watch officers Carrie Bishop, Keeley Andrushko, Adriana Clark and Megan Scuderi explained each of the characteristics of National Honor Society to the new inductees and lit a symbolic candle for each characteristic. Inductees then lit their own NHS candles from the characteristic most important to them.

The new inductees to the Black Watch Chapter of National Honor Society for 2011 are Rebecca Barber, Steven Bussey, Riley Chapman, Anthony Costello, Ashley Costello, Gracie Ginn, Hannah Herbst, Katherine Palandrani, Carly Pinkowski, Markie teRiele, Nicole Trudeau, Jordan Woods,and Anita Zhang.

They were welcomed by current members Andrushko, Michael Barber, Jay Berube, Bishop, Christopher Burns, Amanda Charlton, Clark, Joseph Gonyeau, Paige Hughes, Ben Karkoski, Corey King, William Lawrie, Nathan Lenhart, Brittney Lynch, Matt Nolan, Jake O'Hara, Brandon Russell, Megan Schryer, Scuderi, Stephanie Towne, Harley Trudeau, Victoria Walters, Taylor Ward and Zhuo Hao Allen Zhang.

Black Watch President Lynch and Ti High Principal Michael Graney welcomed each of the 13 new members to local chapter of National Honor Society.

The theme of the Ticonderoga induction ceremony was patriotism. Members offered quotes from four American presidents - Washington, Lincoln, Franklin Roosevelt and Kennedy - to highlight the goals all NHS members should strive to achieve.

The National Honor Society was established in 1921. Though many local and regional honor societies existed prior to 1921, there was no nationwide organization to recognized outstanding students. Starting in Pittsburgh, Pa., the organization grew to more than 1,000 chapters by 1930.

From its very beginning, the National Honor Society constitution has called for chapters "to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership and to develop character in the students of secondary schools."

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment