Students honored at capitol ceremony

RUTLAND - The student members of Stafford Technical Center's Students Against Destructive Decisions Chapter and their advisor, Stafford Public Safety Services Instructor John D 'Esposito, were honored April 22 at the Vermont Statehouse with Concurrent House Resolution (HCR 122) for winning the 2010 National SADD Chapter of the Year Award.

The students were feted at SADD's national conference in Orlando, Fla., for their meritorious activities and dedication to SADD's mission.

The ceremony took place in the House Chamber and was offered by the following Vermont State House members: State Representatives Butch Shaw of Pittsford, Joe Acinapura of Brandon, Peg Andrews of Rutland City, Tom Burditt of West Rutland, Mollie Burke of Brattleboro, Bill Canfield of Fair Haven, Gayle Courcelle of Rutland City, Herb Font-Russell of Rutland City, Eldred French of Shrewsbury, Bob Helm of Fair Haven, John Malcolm of Pawlet, Jim McNeil of Rutland Town, and Dave Potter of Clarendon.

The Stafford SADD Chapter members receiving national distinction were: Korey Russell, Hayley Cotrupi, Amber Hannan, Alan Greenier, James Reed, Cierra Phelps, and Aaron Bosch, all of Mill River HighSchool; Ginger Vaughn, Kimberly Rupe and Nicole Bogucki, all of Poultney High School; Emily Fredette, Fair Haven; Emily Johnson, West Rutland; Ashley Smith, Otter Valley; and Kyle Lenher, Proctor.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment