Alumni from region turn out to honor Pat Ward at annual tourney

ELIZABETHTOWN-Alumni from four schools came out for a day of basketball and fundraising as part of the Pat Ward Alumni Basketball Classic on March 27 at the Elizabethtown-Lewis school gymnasium.

The Schroon Lake mens team and the Westport girls teams were the victors at the event, which raised funds for the Pat Ward Scholarship. The tournament was started by the Moriah Shock Corrections Officers, organized by Michael "Ike" Tyler, to honor Ward, who was killed in a car accident on New Year's Eve, 1991. The scholarship is awarded to an ELCS senior who best exemplifies Ward's love for soccer and his free-spirited attitude.

results from the games are as follows:

Women: Westport 28, ELCS-1 18

Westport: Krissy Bullock 3, Arlene Vogel Phillips 1, Terry Conley 6, Becky Hopkins 1, Stefanie Russell 6, Kalika Hopkins 4, Nanette Sherman Polvinale 0, Mika Conley Mannix 7

ELCS-1: Jessyka McGinn 0, Leslie Wallace 0, Ashli Canabush 10, Alex Dawson 6, Michelle Spooner 2, Katie Sweatt 0

Women: Willsboro 25, ELCS-2 14

Willsboro: Yvonne Stafford 0, Sarah Noll 10, Randi Swires 2, Codia Holland 7, Serene Holland 1, Krystal Porter 2. Christine Benedict 0

ELCS-2: Tanya Welch 0, Andrea Denton 4, K. Sweatt 0, J. McGinn 0, L. Wallace 2, A. Canabush 0, Ginger Phinney 4, A. Dawson 4

Men: Schroon Lake 60, Westport 46

Schroon Lake: Ethan Tyrell 7, Dana Shaughnessy 0, Eric LeClair 21, Wayne Welch 6, Lucas Brock 15, Chris Ferris 5, Matt Ferris 6

Westport: Alex Moore 4, Tony Moore 5, Chris Markwica 9, Mike Tyler, Jr. 4, Tanner Carroll 15, Johnny Stahl 0, Kevin Brant 3, Colin MacIver 6

Men's Title: ELCS 51, Willsboro 38

ELCS: Evan Drew 11, Scott Hutchins 0, Fig Hutchins 0, Pat Cashin 0, Matt Cashin 0, Joe Cashin 17, Henry Bassette 9, Tommy Doyle 8, Josh Mowery 2, Garrett Hume 2, Jimmy Pierce 2

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment