Earl, Perry to keep trustee seats

LAKEGEORGE-Local voters re-elected two incumbent village board members Tuesday, March 15, and the tally reflected a substantial margin over their sole challenger.

John Earl and Ray Perry were elected to an additional four-year term, defeating candidate Patty Kirkpatrick. She had campaigned on a platform on giving business owners more voice in government and boosting communication between the village board and residents.

Earl received 176 votes, to Perry's 171, and Kirkpatrick's tally of 73 in the three-way race for two open seats.

Perry said the vote demonstrated support for the accomplishments and approach of the existing town board.

"We're committed to keeping a balance between the interests of the village residents and business owners," he said. "We ran on our collective record and it seems people agree with what we've done."

Earl offered similar comments.

"Our opposition campaigned that we were not transparent, but the vote results sends a message that we've done a good job."

During the campaign, Mayor Robert Blais had voiced support for the incumbents. After the election tally was announced at 9:15 p.m., he pumped his fist in the air over the results, congratulated Earl and Perry, and gave the latter a hug.

"We've worked hard together to be responsive to all the people," Blais said.

Unopposed in the election, Blais now will start his 11th four-year term, which makes him the longest-serving mayor in New York State. He has been at the helm of Lake George village government since 1971, after serving four years as trustee.

He said he enjoyed this distinction, as well as his work.

"It's been my goal," he said. "I wanted to do this if I still have the will, the ability and passion, and I still do."

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment