Village seats uncontested in Clinton County

PLATTSBURGH - The seats on village boards of trustees throughout the county are uncontested this year, according to the Clinton County Board of Elections.

In the village of Dannemora, Mayor Michael Bennett is running unopposed.

Kathleen Kiroy, an incumbent trustee, will run for reelection uncontested while newcomer Thomas Tripp, is running for the trustee position held currently by Donald Kramer, who is not seeking reelection. The three seats each consist of four-year terms.

In the village of Champlain, Mayor Gregory Martin, who replaced former Mayor Jeff Moore in October after Moore's resignation, will run unopposed for his first official term as mayor. Trustee candidate Thomas Gurzenda will run unopposed for the seat he took over from Martin last fall. Incumbent trustee Kim Trombley will also run unopposed. Each seat carries a two-year term.

Rouses Point village trustees Brian Jefferson and Dennis Roberts are running unopposed for election. Those seats carry two-year terms.

Election polling places will be open from 12 to 9 p.m. Tuesday, March 15. In Dannemora, the election will be held at the Village Office, 21 Emmons St.; in Champlain, voting will be done at the village office, 1104 Main St. In the village of Rouses Point, ballots will be cast at Rouses Point Civic Center's Halstead Hall, located at 39 Lake St.

The village of Keeseville has no positions up for election this year.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment