Singleton named 'Firefighter of Year'

POTTERSVILLE - Donald Singleton, First Assistant Chief of the Pottersville Volunteer Fire Department, was honored recently as Firefighter of the Year at the agency's annual banquet. Singleton was chosen for the award by the Pottersville Fire District Commissioners, and Eugene Dutcher, chairman of the panel, presented a plaque to Dutcher commemorating the award.

In the award presentation, Singleton was praised for his high level of commitment, his recognized leadership, and the respect he has earned from department members and the community.

Service awards were also presented to firefighters for various achievements. Awards for responding to the most fire calls during 2010 were presented to: Donald Singleton for highest incident response; Rico Lopez, second highest; Jeffery Finch and Eugene Carman, third highest; Jonathan Barney and Robert Leszyk, fourth highest; and Douglas Howe, fifth highest.

Awards were presented to members that volunteered the most time in training session during the year. Donald Singleton was first by tallying 103.5 hours; Jonathan Barney was second with 80.5 hours; Issachar Modert was third with 72.5 hours, Todd Stanley was fourth with 62.5 hours, and Rico Lopez was fifth with 62 hours. In total, department members spent almost 1,100 hours in training during 2010.

Service longevity awards were also presented.

Topping the list was Eugene Carman with 35 years of service. He was followed by Frank Meade with 30 years; John Howe Jr. and Delvin Wheeler, 20 years; William LaPierre, 10 years; and Richard Empett, five years.

Empett was also given a certificate of appreciation for serving two years as the department's chief pumperman.

First Assistant Chief Delvin Wheeler was also honored. A plaque containing his badge and helmet shield was presented to him recognizing six years of service in his post.

The annual banquet was attended not only by fire department members honorary members and their guests, but by top officers of neighboring departments that respond to Pottersville mutual aid calls. Among those representing their various organizations were Horicon Fire Chief James Hayes, Chestertown Fire Chief Jack Crossman, Riverside Fire Chief Robert Frevelle, North Creek Fire Chief Steve Studnicky, and North Warren Emergency Squad President Kevin White.

Warren County Director of Emergency Services Brian LaFlure and his deputy coordinators Ted Little and Scott Combs also attended, as did Cindy Roberts of the county Sheriff's Department, Communications and Dispatch Division.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment