ACFA firefighters receive awards, honors

FERRISBURGH - Addison County firefighters gathered to celebrate their achievements at the annual Addison County Firefighters Association (ACFA) dinner and awards ceremony at the Eagles Club in Ferrisburgh last week.

Lt. Gov. Phil Scott was the guest speaker at the event. He stressed the importance of volunteer firefighting, especially during the current recession when all levels of public services are being reduced or eliminated. Scott said he would like to see efforts put into more ways to get young people to volunteer with local fire departments.

Receiving awards and recognition for outstanding service in the line of duty are the following firefighters of the ACFA:

•Randy Stearns: Francis Shorkey Fire Chief of the Year. Stearns is fire chief in Addison.

•Tom Sullivan: Chief Fred Jackman Firefighter of the Year. Sullivan is a veteran member of the Middlebury Fire Department.

•Bruce Putnam: ACFA Line Officer of the Year Award. Putnam is a member of the Addison Fire Department.

•Art Bradley: ACFA Senior Firefighter of the Year. Bradley is a member of the Weybridge Fire Department.

•John Dupont: Chief Jackman Youth Firefighter Award. Dupont is the son of former Monkton Fire Chief Butch DuPont.

•Rayne Plant: ACFA Emergency Maintenance Technician of the Year Award. Plant is a member of the Bridport Fire Department.

Other service awards were presented to the following firefighters:

•Art Bradley: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

•Joel Bouvier: ACFA Life Member Award.

•Peter Bouvier: ACFA Life Member Award.

•Tom Estey: ACFA Life Member Award.

•Kelley James: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

•Bob Jenkins: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award. •Darwin Kimbal: ACFA Life Member Award.

•Roy LaRose: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

•George Roy: ACFA Life Member Award.

•Leslee Rublee:ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

•George Smith: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

•Charles Thibault: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

•Roger Thibault: ACFA Life Member Award.

•Bob Warner: ACFA 50-Year Pin Award.

Special credit was given to this year's ACFA Awards Committee: Keith Betourney, Bernard Dubois, Jim Ford, Roger Thibault, and Ron Warner.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment