Chazy's LaPier named Class D Player of Year

All state teams announced in girls soccer


Kylee Cassavaugh of Elizabethtown-Lewis and Kaylyn Bennett of Indian Lake/Long Lake go for the ball.

— For the second straight season, a Chazy Lady Eagle has earned the honor of Class D state Player of the Year.

Caitlyn LaPier, who helped lead the Eagles to back-to-back state titles this season, earned the honor from the NYSSCOGS and NYSSWA.

Goalie Katherine Tooke and defender Megan Reynolds were named to the Class D first team, while last year’s state player of the year, Kirsten Doran, was named to the third team.

Elizabethtown-Lewis striker Kylee Cassavaugh was named ot the fourth team all-state.

AuSable Valley midfielder Amanda Hamilton and Beekmantown striker Jess Huber were named to the first team in Class B, while teammate Stephanie Clookey and Peru’s Lindsey Bushey were named to the third team.


Amanda Hamilton of AuSable Valley and Paige Southwick of Northeastern Clinton try to get the ball as Rachel Knapp of AVCS and Michaela McDonough of NCCS watch on.

No Class C players were named to the state teams.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment