continued Admission to the grounds to view the reenactment is free, though Hughes strongly encouraged visiting the site’s air conditioned museum to learn about the full history of the site.
The museum, with its high-definition audio-visual show and fresh, interactive exhibits, is open from 9:30 a.m. until 5 p.m., Thursdays through Mondays.
Crown Point offers a unique backdrop for this interactive event, both geographically and historically. Before the 1730s, Woodland Indians camped on the peninsula. In 1734, the French military built an impressive stronghold here, Fort St. Frédéric, with its tall limestone tower and even a fortified and wind-powered grist mill. A quarter-century later, when the British arrived, they added an even larger fortress at Crown Point. The limestone ruins of both the French-built fort and of the earthen walls and stone barracks of the British fort, located on a point of land that juts into Lake Champlain, still offer an inspiring location that has remained largely unchanged since a devastating fire burned the British fort in 1773, only two years before the start of the War for American Independence.
The ruins are among the very few remaining examples of pre-Revolutionary military construction in the United States and both fort ruins have been individually designated as “National Historic Landmarks” by the U.S. Department of the Interior.
For more information about the site or about “Friends of Crown Point State Historic Site, Inc.,” the public can contact the site manager at 597-4666 or may schedule a visit to the museum on Grandview Drive, Crown Point. For more information about N.Y. State Parks and Historic Sites, visit the agency’s web site at www.nysparks.com.