Ti students present 'Name Game' to a capacity audience

TICONDEROGA-"What's in a name?" Shakespeare asked.

Plenty, according to the Ticonderoga High School music department.

Student musicians presented their annual pops concert - "The Name Game" - March 31 to a capacity audience. Performances by the band, chorus, Sentinel Big Band, Night Shadows male choir and Trebled Voices female choir featured popular songs based on names.

Killer Joe, Sweet Caroline, Hey Jude, Rikki Don't Lose That Number and other hits filled the auditorium and had people singing along.

The Ti High music department is ambitious, Principal Mike Graney pointed out. The pops concert is the second of three concerts this academic year. There will also be two coffee houses this spring. Graney noted more than 100 students are part of the music program, about 40 percent of the school.

"We have a very busy, very talented music department," he said.

Nelson Shapiro, who directed the concert, praised the work ethic of his students.

"Whenever I ask if we need more practice the answer is always 'Yes,'," he said. "It's a great group to work with. It's a real privilege for me."

Shapiro said the pops concert is a fundraising event for the music department, which is taking students to New York City on a two-day trip to see the Broadway play "Spiderman." While in New York students will also tour the city and its sites.

The chorus included Keeley Andrushko, Michael Barber, Rebecca Barber, Alaina Bevilacqua, David Bevins, Derek Bevins, Randolph Bevins, Christopher Burns, Megan Campney, Riley Chapman, Brandon Charboneau, Michaela Connors, James Cook, Matthew Cook, Jeannette Coon, Anthony Costello, Ashley Costello, Francis Cox, Jacob Crowe, Morgan Dean, Ty Denno, Kevin Densmore, Kaitlyn Diskin, Mark Donohue, Anthony DuShane, Alyssa Fuller, Jordan Fuller, Adam Geiser, Skyler Gilbert, Martin Glazer, Joseph Gonyeau, Michael Graney, Coleman Granger, Jaelyn Granger, Jarryn Granger, Ciarra Gray, Abigail Gurney, Rhyan Hall, Sadie Hamel, Haley Harris, Jay Hebert, Cody Henthorn, Hannah Herbst, Miranda Holman, Paige Hughes, Francis Jebb, Maura Jebb, Chelsea Kearns, McKenna Kelly, Alyssa LaRock, William Lawrie, Nathan Lenhart, Patrick Lonergan, Adam Losher, Brittney Lynch, Karney Manning, Logan Mars, Katelyn Mercer, Brianna Morse, Marissa Morse, Megan Moser, Emilee Namer, Cody O'Hara, Katherine Palandrani, Sara Plude, Anthony Priest, Tanner Purkey, Tiffani Purkey, Clifford Raymond, Alyssa Rodriguez, Joshua Ross, MaKayla Saunders, Logan Schryer, Megan Scuderi, Courtney Shaner, Kady Sharrow, Shelby Spaulding, Ariana Stevens, Tabitha Taylor, Markie teRiele, Sarah, teRiele, William terSteege, Amelia Towne, Katelyn Troche, Harley Trudeau, Nicole Trudeau, Karissa Tucker, Victoria Walters, Tucker Ward, Laura West, Rebecca White, Ryann Wiktorko, Destiny Wood, Anthony Woodard, Shauna Woodard, Sierra Woodard, Jordan Woods and Tanner Wright.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment