LP, SL fire departments elect officers

The Saranac Lake and Lake Placid volunteer fire departments have elected officers for 2011-2012.

Officers are nominated by volunteers and voted on through secret ballot.

In Saranac Lake, Brendan Keough was elected chief, while Casey Taylor and Andy McGill were elected first assistant chief and second assistant chief, respectively.

Other elected officers include: Julie Harjung, third assistant chief in charge of rescue; Jim Stinson, captain of fire; Bill Madden, captain of rescue; Tim Donaldson, first lieutenant of fire; Damon Jacobs, first lieutenant of rescue; Jeff White, second lieutenant of fire; and Mary Brown, second lieutenant of rescue.

Frank Brier was elected to a two-year term as department director.

In Lake Placid, Liane Colby was elected as fire chief. Dave Sheffield and Tracey LaHart were elected as first assistant chief and second assistant chief, respectively.

Torry Hoffman, Steven LaHart, Matt Marshall, and John Fagan were elected first, second, third, and fourth captain, in that order.

In a release issued by the Saranac Lake Volunteer Fire Department, officials said they were "very proud of the hard work and dedication required by our members who qualify for these positions."

"The safety of our community and the well being of our department depend on their dedication, skill, training, and leadership," the release states.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment