Laperle takes home win at Airborne Speedway's Fall Foliage 300 race

SOUTH PLATTSBURGH - Patrick Laperle of St. Denis Quebec took the lead at Airborne Speedway last Saturday on a restart with 15 laps remaining in the 39th Mohawk Casino Fall Foliage 300. Laperle went on to win the event for the second year in a row.

Laperle earned $4,000 by shooting underneath leaders Brian Hoar and Eric Williams as they brushed into one another at the drop of the green.

Joey Polewarczyk, who raced alongside Hoar for second for more than 20 laps, finished third. Brad Leighton and Williams completed the top five.

The long-distance race made pit strategy a key factor. Canadian Donald Theetge led many laps in the middle of the race, but eventually spun out of contention after being overtaken by cars with fresher tires. Laperle pitted midway in the race with a tire going down, lost a lap and then got back on the lead lap on lap 196. Hoar and Polewarczyk pitted for tires on lap 218.

Positions 6-10 went to Randy Potter, Scott Payea, Brent Dragon, Craig Bushey and Joe Becker.

The Ernie's Discount Tools Modified Apple Bowl 100 came down to the final lap. Vince Quenneville of Brandon, Vt., was first to the finish line by four feet, but the results remain unofficial pending further technical inspection. Patrick Dupree, the 2010 Modified champion was third, Kenny Tremont fourth and Martin Roy fifth. Roy had built a long lead, but a restart with 10 laps left brought Quenneville and Stone within reach and they quickly moved to the front.

Keith Flach, Don Scarborough and Andy Heywood finished 6th, 7th and 8th.

Kevin Boutin of Swanton, Vt., won the Renegade championship by two points over defending champion Lonnie Rivers by finishing second to Codey Benoit in the 25-lap feature. Rivers finished third, just ahead of Chad Provost and Dave Rabtoy.

Bucko Branham carried the Sportsman checkers for the sixth time while Robin Wood of Plattsburgh secured the track championship with a fourth-place run. Tylor Terry and Bill Thwaites were second and third.

On Saturday, CJ LaVair of Gabriels won the NAPA Mini Modified 25-lap feature. Rick Doner of Ausable Forks had already wrapped up the track championship. Bill Joyal of Ausable Forks won the Monster Energy Bomber feature and with it, the Bomber championship by one point over Scott Richner of Rouses Point.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment