Essex County

Voting against the resolution were Douglas, Moriah supervisor Tom Scozzafava, Essex supervisor Sharon Boisen, Keene supervisor Bill Ferebee, Crown Point supervisor Bethany Kosmider, Wilmington supervisor Randy Preston, Ticonderoga supervisor Debra Malaney, and Lewis supervisor David Blades.

Those voting in favor of the resolution were Merrihew, Connell, Newcomb supervisor George Canon, Minerva supervisor Sue Montgomery-Corey, Chesterfield supervisor Gerald Morrow, and North Hudson supervisor Robert Dobie.

Schroon supervisor Cathy Moses, St. Armand supervisor Joyce Morency, and North Elba supervisor Roby Politi were all absent from the meeting.

The resolution could be brought up again at a future meeting if it is introduced by a supervisor who voted against it or was absent at the time of the Aug. 30 vote.

County manager Dan Palmer said if Essex County were to reject the contract, NCCC would have to re-initiate negotiations with their Civil Service employees, regardless of whether Franklin County approved it.

Palmer said the cost to hire representation for new negotiations may cancel out any savings that might come from eliminating the raises.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment