Beekmantown Teams Gearing up for Winter Seasons

For this year he has already seen they are a "hardworking, hustling team," with "strong team chemistry" and the "potential for improvement throughout the season."

Beekmantown Varsity Hockey

The varsity hockey team, coached by Justin Frechette, and assisted by Blake Frechette, is coming back from a 2009-2010 season of 16-5-1, and a conference record of 8-2. They are also ranked seventh in the state.

The team is made up of seniors Frank Buksa, Brett Carnwright, and Allan Bray. Juniors Hunter Dominy, Jordan Barriere, Carter Frechette, Tavon Ford-Relation, Kody Rascoe, Corey Gonyea, and Dereck Fleming. Sophomores Cole Carter, Brett Giroux, Kyle Bisonette, Tanner Roser, Austin Bradish, Brenden Carnright, and Kyle McCarthy. Freshman Brandon Buksa, Matt LaClair, Ryan Waterbury, Devin Fessette, and Nathan Foster, and eighth grader Josh Barriere.

"Graduating eight seniors from last years team, we will need our younger players to step up and fill the leadership voids left by our graduating seniors," said Justin Frechette. "With a team this young, the challenge will be playing with consistency night in and night out throughout the entire season."

Beekmantown Varsity Indoor Track

Coming into her first season of coaching indoor track at Beekmantown, coach Barbara Drake said she has her work cut out for her.

"Coaching a team that in past years, has had quite successful season, I have my work cut out," she said. "The success of the athletes is something that reflects on me whether negative or positive."

"My expectations for the season is to get the athletes conditioned and to compete at their highest potential," Drake added. "Someone with track and field experience, hopefully, will help boost confidence for the athletes and myself."

Beekmantown Varsity Wrestling

The varsity wrestling team, coached by Len Gadway, and assisted by Dennis Renadette, Alan Nephew, Josh Howard, and Kevin Gregory, is returning with a combined dual meets with 142 wins and 20 losses during the last seven years.

This year's team consists of seniors Brandon Abrahamson, Nick Bushey, Jesse Daniels, Timothy Hoffman, Brandon Jabaut, Ethan Kerr, and Kyle LaPorte. Juniors Austin Desreuisseau, Hayden Head, and Jesse Hoffman. Sophomores Gage Bourdeau and Zachary Myers. Freshman Brandon Defayette, Brett Gonyea, Jonathan Graziane, Nate Malmgrem, Daniel Offman, and Brandon Rivers. Eighth graders Alan Fountain, Cody LaPlante, and Dylan Peryea. And seventh graders Michael Cartee, Gage Cook, Bruce Goddeau, and Tyler Myers.

"[I] look forward to another successful season and look to compete for the section championship at the end of the year," said Gadway.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment