Policeman named a "lifesaver"

RUTLAND-The Vermont Governor's Highway Safety Program holds the awards luncheon every year to give thanks to those who dedicate their lives to highway safety.

Lt. Kevin Geno of Rutland City Police Department has been named the 2010 Lifesaver of the Year by the Governor's Highway Safety Program at its annual "Vermont Highway Heroes" luncheon on March 23.

Geno's thirty plus years of outstanding dedication in motivating others, building, nurturing and supporting programs and partnerships within the law enforcement community earned him the award.

In addition to the Lifesaver of the Year award, three other awards were given:

The Sgt. Michael Johnson Award is presented each year to a Vermont Police officer who demonstrates dedication to highway safety efforts.

This year's recipient was Sergeant Allen Fortin, of the Shelburne Police Department. Sergeant Fortin's recognition is for his outstanding dedication and commitment to traffic safety, child passenger safety, occupant protection, and DUI enforcement within the Shelburne and the Chittenden County area.

The Fletcher Brush award, which is named for a Middlebury highway safety activist is for education and outreach efforts promoting highway safety. Tom Williams, of AAA of Northern New England, received the 2010 award for continuous dedication to the promotion of highway safety issues for the citizens of Vermont.

The Engineering Award was presented to Amy Gamble, Agency of Transportation, for her untiring advocacy to bring engineering and behavioral disciplines together to solve Vermont's highway safety challenges.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment