Port Henry firefighters honored

Special recognitions were given to those senior volunteers with 40or more years of service to the department. Members recognized included Frank Blaise (41), Thomas "Turk" Boyle (44), Daby (50), John Sweet (52), Leroy Vanderhoof (54) and John "Jack" Waldron (61). They represent 302 years of combined service and experience to the community.

A special recognition was extended to Phil Huchro for responding 51 out of 55 calls in 2009. An engraved Leatherman Tool was presented to him. It marks the third year in a row that he achieved this recognition.

William Boyle was presented the Volunteer Appreciation Award for 2009 as selected by the chief officers for his service, attitude and commitment to the department.

Past Chief George C. Daly, with 30 years of fire service experience, was recognized and presented the Firefighter of the Year Award for 2009. He was presented a Vanmark statue engraved with his name, a gold uniform medal and a proclamation from Sayward marking this achievement. In addition and in recognition of his 5 years of service as chief, a very presentation was made on behalf of the firemen where he received an engraved shadow box containing his badge, nametag, department shield and collar pins.

In concluding the night's festivities, DJ Mike "Doc" Vilardo provided a variety of music throughout the evening.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment