Port Henry firefighters honored

PORT HENRY - Lester Daby was honored for 50 years service during the 136th annual Port Henry Volunteer Fire Department banquet recently.

Daby received tributes and proclamations marking his anniversary with the department from the village of Port Henry, town of Moriah, Essex County Board of Supervisors, Gov. David Paterson, State of New York, Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward, Sen. Betty Little, Fireman's Association of New York State and the New York State Association of Fire Chiefs.

Past 3rd assistant chief, Daby was presented with a walnut engraved clock in the shape of a Maltese cross marking his achievements.

Approximately 70 people attended the traditional event that recognized several of their members for many years of service to the department and community.

Chief Jim Hughes acted as master of ceremonies. Guests in attendance included Port Henry Mayor Ernest Guerin and wife, Debbie; Deputy Mayor John Sheldon and wife, Nancy; village trustees Louise Belden and Ruth McDonough; Moriah Supervisor Thomas Scozzafava; Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward; Don Jaquish, 1st assistant chief, Moriah Fire Department, and wife Louann; and Paul Tromblee, chief, Mineville-Witherbee Fire Department, and wife Nancy.

A moment of silence was offered to Joyce Sweet, a past auxiliary member and wife of long time firefighter John Sweet, who died in October of last year.

Several presentations were made throughout the evening beginning with recognition given to the new administrative and line officers of the department - James Decker, secretary; Robert DeFelice, captain; William Boyle, lieutenant; John Waldron, 3rd assistant chief; and Hughes, chief.

The Port Henry Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary was also present. New officers recognized included Brenda Baker, president; Jeannie Ball, vice president; Laura Venne, secretary; and Lindsey Bilodeau, treasurer.

The auxiliary presented new member pins to Emily Fortier, Laura Muniz, Erin Pooler and Tonya Vassar.

Port Henry Fire Department members recognized for several years of service included: Dain Venne (5 years), Michael Dever (20), Thomas McDonald (35) and Daby (50).

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment