Panther named conference MVP; Wildcats cited

CROWN POINT - Jessica Potter of Crown Point has been named Most Valuable Player in the Mountain and valley Athletic Conference Division II.

The conference announced its all stars last week. Potter hit .448 with 11 runs batted in as she led Crown Point to an undefeated regular season, the MVAC championship and the Section VII Class D title. She is a senior.

Chelsea DuShane, Lindsay Brace and Noel Vezzi of Crown Point were also named to the Division II all star team.

DuShane, a pitcher and outfielder, posted a 5-0 mark on the mound with 57 strike outs. She also hit .568 with 14 RBI and scored 12 runs. She is a junior.

Brace, a pitcher and outfielder, hit .414 and scored 14 runs. On the hill she fanned 117 batters. She is a sophomore.

Vezzi, an infielder and outfielder, batted .462. She scored 14 runs and walked 10 times. She is a senior.

Rounding out the Division II all star team are Michelle Sardella of Keene, Emma Nye of Keene, Emma Gother of Keene, Taylor Cronquist of Bolton, Tori Persons of Bolton and Taylor Barrach of Bolton.

Schroon Lake placed three players on the MVAC Division I all star team. Abby Veverka, Ashley Subra and Mindy Whitty represent the Wildcats.

Veverka, a shortstop and centerfielder, hit .421 and had a .500 on base percentage. She is an eighth grade student.

Supra, an infielder and pitcher, hit .351 with 10 extra base hits for the Wildcats. She is a junior.

Whitty, a catcher, hit .333 and provided strong defense and leadership. She is a senior.

Andrew LeVien of Elizabethtown-Lewis is the Division I MVP.

Rounding out the Division all star team are Kylee Cassavaugh of ELCS, Kearstin Ashline of ELCS, Chelsea Provost of ELCS, Stevie Burrows of Willsboro, Emily Keable of Chazy and Astrid Kempanien of Chazy.

Schroon Lake won the Division I sportsmanship award.

Kaylie Miller of Indian Lake-Long Lake is the MVAC Division III MVP.

Joining her on the Division III all-star team are Carli Reynolds of Indian Lake-Long Lake, Murphy Farrell of Indian Lake-Long Lake, Sierra Olbert of Indian Lake-Long Lake, Larissa Roy of Minerva-Newcomb, Laura Tokarz of Minerva-Newcomb,, Renna Yandon of Minerva-Newcomb,, Kelly Blackhurst of Johnsburg, Lizzie Perkins of Wells and Val Hayes of Wells.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment