WCS offers early retirement

About 75 or so employees would have been eligible.

The board decided not to offer this program because it likely wouldn't benefit the district or taxpayers, Turcotte said.

Warren County voted to not opt into either early retirement programs, after calculating they'd likely boost personnel costs - although in some positions, a replacement employee could be hired at a lower cost.

Also at the July 12 meeting, the school board re-elected its president, John MicGlire, and its vice president, Dean Moore. The seven-member board currently includes Richlene Morey, Linda Baker-Marcella, James Carrion, Beth Callahan and Laura Dana in addition to MicGlire and Moore.

The board was reduced in July, after the public voted in May to reduce the board membership from nine to seven upon the term expirations of retiring board members Al Smith and Brian Lace.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment