Weibrecht claims bronze in Super-G

The two medals by Miller and Weibrecht triple the U.S. total in the Super-G and gives the U.S. alpine ski team eight 2010 Olympic medals as of Feb. 21.

North Elba Supervisor Roby Politi moved for a resolution of congratulations to Weibrecht, which was unanimously seconded by the Essex County Ways and Means committee Feb. 22.

"It's gratifying to have someone like Andrew grow up on the slopes of Whiteface and become an Olympic medalist.," said ORDA president/CEO Ted Blazer. "Andrew is an incredibly hard-working athlete who has never given up and all of us are extremely proud of him."

There are 216 U.S. athletes competing in the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver. Among them:

• 32 either reside in or originate from New York State.

• 24 have competed as High Schoolers in New York's Empire State Games. Of those, 16 still live in New York State. The Empire State Winter games have been held in Lake Placid every year since their inception in 1981.

• 12 call the Tri-Lakes region their home:

Andrew Weibrecht (23, Lake Placid, Alpine Skiing)

Peter Frenette (17, Saranac Lake, Ski Jumping)

Lowell Bailey (28, Lake Placid, Biathlon)

Tim Burke (28, Paul Smiths, Biathlon)

Haley Johnson (28, Lake Placid, Biathlon)

Bill Demong (29, Vermontville, Nordic Combined)

Ashley Caldwell (16, Lake Placid, Freestyle Aerial)

Chris Mazdzer (21, Saranac Lake, Luge)

Brian Martin (36, Lake Placid, Luge)

Bengt Walden (36, Lake Placid, Luge)

Mark Grimmette (39, Lake Placid, Luge)

John Napier (23, Lake Placid, Bobsled)

• Four graduated from Lake Placid's National Sports Academy: Bill Demong ('98), Haley Johnson ('00), Chris Mazdzer ('06) and Nick Alexander ('07).

• Seven have participated in programs through the New York Ski Education Foundation, based in Lake Placid: Nick Alexander, Lowell Bailey, Tim Burke, Bill Demong, Peter Frenette, Haley Johnson, and Andrew Weibrecht.

• Six have received grants from the Uihlein-Ironman Sports Fund at Adirondack Community Trust to support their training: Lowell Bailey, Tim Burke, Bill Demong, Peter Frenette, Haley Johnson and Chris Mazdzer.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment