Port Henry FD gets new chief

PORT HENRY - James A.Hughes has been elected to head the Port Henry Fire Department.

Hughes was elected to serve as chief during the 2010-11 fire company year. He replaces George Daly.

Hughes, a long-time member of the village of Port Henry board, resigned his village seat in order to accept the fire company position.

Thomas W. Edwards Sr. was elected First Assistant Chief, John W. Hickey Second Assistant Chief and John T. Waldron Third Assistant Chief.

Also elected were captains Ronald H. VanSlooten and Robert T. DeFelice and Lieutenants George W. Edwards and William F. Boyle.

Richard A. DeFelice was elected president, Ronald R. Nesbitt Jr. vice president and James F. Decker secretary.

Appointed were Ernest C. DuRoss as treasurer, John F. Waldron as safety officer and Brian J. Venne as chaplain.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment