Budwick, Bowen named division MVPs

CROWN POINT - John Budwick of Crown Point and Jocelyn Bowen of Schroon Lake have garners Most Valuable Player honors for the 2009-10 Mountain and Valley Athletic Conference basketball season.

Budwick led the Crown Point boys in scoring and rebounding as the Panthers won their first Section VII championship in the past decade. Budwick was named Division II Co-MVP with Westport's Nathan Gay.

Budwick went over the 1,000-point plateau for his career this season.

Bowen paced Schroon Lake in scoring and rebounding as the Wildcats battled for the MVAC Division I crown.

Crown Point's Tony Rodriguez was named to the boys Division II MVAC all-star team along with Budwick.

Schroon Lake's Brennan Bush and Cody Armstrong were named to the boys Division I all-star squad.

Mindy Whitty of Schroon Lake joined Bowen on the girls Division I all-star roster.

Crown Point's Marissa Titus and Jessica Potter were named to the MVAC Division II girls all-star team.

The complete MVAC all-star line up includes:


Division I

Mindy Whitty - Schroon Lake

Olivia Seymour - Chazy

Sagan Trombley - Chazy

Shonna Brooks - Elizabethtown

Alicia Mahoney - Willsboro

MVP - Jocelyn Bowen - Schroon Lake

Team Sportsmanship: Elizabethtown-Lewis

Division II

Kalika Hopkins - Westport

Christina Sherman - Westport

Marissa Titus - Crown Point

Jessica Potter - Crown Point

Emma Nye - Keene

Co-MVP - Willa McKinley - Westport

Co-MVP - Martha McKinley - Westport

Team Sportsmanship: Bolton

Division III

Elizabeth Hamden - Indian Lake/Long Lake

Murphy Farrell - Indian Lake/Long Lake

Elizabeth Perkins - Wells

Kelsey Williford - Johnsburg

Allison Pine - Indian Lake/Long Lake

MVP - Carli Reynolds - Indian Lake/Long Lake Team Sportsmanship: Johnsburg and Minerva-Newcomb


Division I

Shea Howley - Chazy

Ricky Osier - Chazy

Brennan Bush - Schroon Lake

Cody Armstrong - Schroon Lake

Alex Hamel - Willsboro

MVP - Lucas Strong - Willsboro

Team Sportsmanship: Schroon Lake

Division II

Bo McKinley - Westport

Kevin Russell - Westport

Tony Rodriguez - Crown Point

Dylan Boyle - Keene

Cody Whitney - Keene

Co-MVP - Nathan Gay - Westport

Co-MVP - John Budwick - Crown Point

Team Sportsmanship: Keene

Division III

Zack Mitchell - Indian Lake/Long Lake

Shane Reynolds - Wells

Ben Richards - Johnsburg

Adrian Veldman - Johnsburg

Matt Rusch - Indian Lake/Long Lake

MVP - Kris Bain - Indian Lake/Long Lake

Team Sportsmanship: Indian Lake/Long Lake

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment