Challengers win in Warrensburg, Bolton

Former Warrensburg Central School Athletic Director Albert Vasak (R) appointed this summer to fill a term, garnered the heaviest support with 69 votes, followed by Incumbent Charles Bills (R) with 54 votes, and Rebecca DeSourdy (R) with 35 votes, and former Town Justice candidate Glenda Duell (R,I) with 33 votes. DeSoiurdy, with her single party label, won't be on the ballot in November.

For the Thurman Supervisor post, there was no primary, but incumbent Red Pitkin (Ic., I) will be challengedin November by Randy Oppitz (D,C) and assessor Thomas Birdsall (R).

In Stony Creek, Incumbent Town Supervisor Frank Thomas (R,Ic), buried Tara Tremaine Fisher (R,C) with a vote of 150 to 52. For the Superintendent of Highways race, incumbent Neil Bradley (R, I) received 120 votes, topping challenger Ian Thomas (R,I) who had 85. But with those independent party affiliations, all will be on the ballot again in November. For the town board, challenger Harry Paul Gill (R,I) received 110 votes, edging out incumbents Bill Liebl with 106 and Warren Braman with 100.

In the town of Bolton, Republican Ronald Conover (R,Ic.), a retired city planner received 350 votes, winning a hefty margin over former town supervisor Alexander "Zandy" Gabriels with 118 votes. For two town board seats, Gregory R. Smith (R) had the strongest showing with 318 votes, followed by incumbent Owen James Maranville (R, Ic) with 287 and challenger Scott P. Anderson (R) with 212. Apparently, Anderson is now off the November ballot, but Ed Corcoran (D) joins the fray.

For Town Justice, incumbent Harry Demarest (R) received 296 votes, retaining his party endorsement against a challenge mounted by Richard D. Sammis (R) with 134 votes. For Highway Superintendent, incumbent Timothy A. Coon (R) was victorious with 264 votes, rebuffing a challenge by William A. Sherman (R, I) who received 209 votes. In November, Anton Cooper (C) joins the race.

In Horicon, Incumbent town board member Frank L. Hill (R) was the first choice with 165 votes, followed by incumbent Robert E. Olson (R) with 148 and challenger Gary F. Frenz (R) with 110 - so this puts Frenz off the ballot in November.

In Johnsburg, there's no primary for town board. In November, two Incumbents Ron Vanselow (D) and Arnold Stevens (R), will be challenged by Roger Mosher (I).

The Highway Superintendent post did have primary race - Daniel B. Hitchcock (R,I) took top honors in the race with 126 votes, surpassing Frederick T. Comstock (R,I) with 68.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment