Local towns see primary races

The towns of Johnsburg, Minerva, Newcomb, Long Lake and Indian Lake will all be presenting ballots in the upcoming primary election.

The five towns hail from three different counties, of which Essex is the only to have county-wide races.

The primary elections are scheduled for Sept. 15 and candidates as well as polling locations are listed below.

Essex County

Sheriff: Henry Hommes (R-C), incumbent; Michael Tyler (R).

District Attorney: Julie Garcia (R-D), incumbent; Kristy Sprague (R).


Highway Superintendent: Daniel B. Hitchcock (R), incumbent; Frederick T. Comstock (R).


Supervisor: David Labar (R); Paul Clickner (R).

Town Council (two seats): Douglas McCall (R), incumbent; Eric Klippel (R); Keith Dubay (R).


Highway Superintendent: Mark Yandon (D), incumbent; John Helms (D).

Long Lake

Supervisor: Gregg Wallace (R), incumbent; Clark Seaman (R).

Town Clerk and Tax Collector: Dixie Lee LeBlanc (R), incumbent; Colleen Smith.

Indian Lake

Supervisor: Barry Hutchins (R), incumbent; William Murphy (R).

Highway Superintendent: James C. Roblee (R); Brian Wells (R).

Polling Locations

Johnsburg: Community Center on Rt. 28 in Wevertown.

Minerva: Community Center on Morse Memorial Highway in Minerva.

Newcomb: Town Hall on Rt. 28N in Newcomb.

Long Lake: Town Hall on Main St. in Long Lake.

Indian Lake: Town Hall on Pelon Rd. in Indian Lake.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment