Candidates sparring for for Primary votes

WARRENSBURG - The upcoming Primary elections in Warren County are lively this year, as a relatively large number of positions in town governments are contended.

No less than 13 Republican primaries are to be held Sept. 13 in towns across northern Warren County alone.

Competition is most heated in Lake George, where five Republicans will be vying to be their party's representative for two Town Board seats. (See accompanying article for details.) Lake George's supervisor race is uncontested in the Primary. But in November, Councilman Frank McCoy will face former Town Supervisor Dennis L. Dickinson (D).

In Warrensburg, there's a contended race for supervisor between two seasoned candidates and a three way race between three successful entrepreneurs for two board seats (See article inside for details.)

In Thurman, four G.O.P candidates are seeking two open board seats - one of Incumbent Charles Bills, and the other of Ruth Keller, who retired from the post this summer.

Former Warrensburg Central School Athletic Director Albert Vasak was appointed just weeks to Keller's seat for the remainder of 2009. Vasak (R) and Bills (R) are challenged by former Town Justice candidate Glenda Duell (R,I) and Rebecca DeSourdy (R).

For the Supervisor post, there's no primary, but incumbent Red Pitkin (Ic., I) will be challenged by Randy Oppitz (D,C) and assessor Thomas Birdsall (R) in November.

In Stony Creek, vying for Town Supervisor will be incumbent Frank Thomas (R,Ic), challenged by Tara Tremaine Fisher (R,C). Battling for Superintendent of Highways are incumbent Neil Bradley (R, I), challenged by Ian Thomas (R,I), and with those independent party affiliations, all will be on the ballot again in November. For the town board, incumbents Warren Braman and Bill Liebl (R) are challenged by Harry Paul Gill (R,I).

In the town of Bolton, Republican Ronald Conover (R,Ic.), a retired city planner, will be seeking the Supervisor post, as well as Alexander "Zandy" Gabriels (R,I), who held the office from 2002 through 2007. For two town board seats, incumbent Owen James Maranville (R, Ic) is challenged by Scott P. Anderson (R) and Gregory R. Smith (R). In November, Ed Corcoran (D) joins the fray. For Town Justice, incumbent Harry Demarest (R) is challenged by Richard D. Sammis (R). For Highway Superintendent, incumbent Timothy A. Coon (R) is challenged by William A. Sherman (R, I) and in November, Anton Cooper (C) joins the race

In Horicon, three candidates are seeking two spots on the Town Board. Incumbents Robert E. Olson (R) and Frank L. Hill (R) are challenged by Gary F. Frenz (R).

In Johnsburg, there's no primary for town board. In November, two Incumbents Ron Vanselow (D) and Arnold Stevens (R), will be challenged by Roger Mosher (I).

There's a primary contest, however, for Highway Superintendent with both Daniel B. Hitchcock (R,I) and Frederick T. Comstock (R,I) seeking the post.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment