SAPA-TV Celebrates 10th Anniversary

Springfield Area Public Access (SAPA) recently marked its 10th year of service to the towns of Springfield, Chester and Weathersfield at its annual meeting on October 22.

Board Chair Bob Flint noted, "It's amazing how many people SAPA touches and how imbedded it is into our lives."

"SAPA is at a really interesting point in time," Flint added. He specifically mentioned ongoing contract negotiations with cable provider Comcast and the station's need for larger quarters.

Flint praised SAPA Director Bruce Johnson, saying, "You have no idea of the hours and dedication he puts in to make this happen."

Director Johnson announced that the station has gotten busier. Original programming for the last year included nearly 500 shows. He also listed equipment upgrades and studio improvements that were completed.

Johnson said that SAPA's ambitious programming has produced growing pains, both in terms of physical space and technical requirements.

The current staff of Jared Gunnell as production manager and Kevin Forrest as programming manager has freed Johnson up to perform more managerial duties, the director said.

Johnson also praised former employees Heather Koledo for her work in creating a web site and Mickee McCrillis for her administrative accomplishments.

The director was especially grateful for those who cover events in the field, including Mark Ostrom, Debbie Ostrom, Chris Rosengrant, Bob Summers, Katelyn Merritt, Wayne LeFevre and Jeff Barcomb.

Johnson also noted that volunteers who step forward, such as sports fans Suzanne Stern and Angelo Jardina, make a huge difference in the quality and quantity of programming.

Board members Marita Johnson and Steve Sysko were singled out and praised for their many hours of volunteer work in the field.

Directors nominated included Flint, Sysko, Kurt Staudter, Marita Johnson, Julia Lloyd Wright and new members Bill Reed and Bill Kearns.

Flint noted that many SAPA board members have been involved since the station's inception a decade ago. He said it was a good time for some new people to get involved.

Johnson concluded, "I would like to thank the directors that donate so much time to make SAPA such a forward-looking enterprise."

In photo, board members and employees gather at SAPA-TV's recent annual meeting. In front from left are Donna Allen, Bruce Johnson, Marita Johnson, Steve Sysko, Kevin Forrest. In back are Teri Emerson, Bob Flint, Scott Adnams, Jared Gunnell and Julia Lloyd Wright.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment