GOP elects party officers

VERGENNES - The Addison County Republican Committee met last week at the home of Bill and Connie Houston in Vergennes for the election of officers for the next two years.

The following slate of candidates was approved by the committee:

Chairman: Lewis Burridge, Ripton.

Vice Chairwoman: Kitty Oxholm, Vergennes.

Secretary: Meg Barnes, Shoreham.

Treasurer; Eugene LeCompte, Bristol.

Assistant Treasurer: Warren Van Wyck, Ferrisburgh.

Financial Chairwoman: Connie Houston, Ferrisburgh (alternate delegates to the Vermont Republican Committee).

Committeeman: Charles Keeley, Panton (alternate delegates to the Vermont Republican Committee).

Committeewoman: Kitty Oxholm, Vergennes (alternate delegates to the Vermont Republican Committee). At Large Delegate: Curtis Willey, Bridport (alternate delegates to the Vermont Republican Committee).

Alternate state delegates; Greg Clark, (Vergennes) Eugene LeCompte, Meg Barnes, Thomas Hughes, and Jim Coons, the last two being from Middlebury. A finance committee was established includes Cheryl McEwan and Jeanette Van Wyck.

There were Republicans from Leicester and Starksboro, as well, with 100 Addison County towns represented.

Mark Snelling was guest speaker and announced his candidacy for the lieutenant governor's position in the 2010 election, and speaking on the importance of the economic situation Vermonters find ourselves in. He feels there are several important issues for the government to consider but the deficit is the most important issue for the state's well-being.

Addison County Sheriff Jim Coons announced that Gov. Jim Douglas will have a swearing in ceremony for newly appointed State's Attorney David Fenster at the Mahady Courthouse, Nov. 17 at 4 p.m.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment