Schroon voters approve budget; elect Tyrrell

SCHROON LAKE - Despite a 15.4 percent spending increase, Schroon Lake Central School District voters approved the 2009-10 budget May 19 by the vote of 297 to 229.

A building project approved by voters three years ago accounts for most of that increase.

The budget totals $7,349,590, an increase of $981,006 from this year. The budget includes the first annual payment of $1,037,500 for the building project.

Actual operating costs at the school are to increase $270,406 - 4.4 percent.

The local tax levy in the 2009-10 budget is $5,585,090, a 13.9 percent increase from the present levy of $4,904,084. Again, most of the increase is attributed to the building project.

Technically, the work is two projects - a $13.4 million upgrade of the existing school building and a separate $1.3 million conversion of the current combination gym/auditorium into an auditorium.

Voters approved both measures June 28, 2006.

The first proposition totals $13,398,159.

It calls for repairs to the school's exterior, replacement of single-pane windows and doors installed in the 1960s, installation of a state-mandated storm water basin, installation of mandated fire doors, installation of safety systems, asbestos and lead containment, installation of a state-mandated elevator for handicap accessibility, electrical upgrades, an energy efficiency system, replacement of boilers and internet accessibility.

The proposition also calls for construction of five new classrooms for pre-kindergarten, elementary science, special education, speech and occupational and physical therapy as well as a gymnasium and locker rooms. Current classrooms will be refurbished.

The second proposition totals $1,329,742.

It calls for the current combination gym/auditorium to be converted into an auditorium with additional permanent seating, improved lighting, improved sound system and new stage rigging and curtains.

The projects are eligible for 24.5 percent state aid.

Voters also approved the purchase a bus at a price not to exceed $95,000. That vote was 331-220.

Diane Tyrrell was elected to a five-year term on the school board with 341 votes, beating incumbent Bruce Murdock, who garnered 177. Roscoe Herrick received a write-in ballot.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment