Council serves

Girl Scouts of Northeastern New York was created in June 2007 from the union of four Girl Scout Councils (Hudson Valley, Mohawk Pathways, Adirondack and North Country) and now serves Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Greene, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Montgomery, Hamilton, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren and Washington counties and a portion of St. Lawrence County.

The council is committed to:

- Serving over 14,500 girls and their families

- Serving over 6,500 adults and volunteers

- Serving more girls within the region and reducing/eliminating any waiting lists of girls who have signed up to be involved with Girl Scouting

- Increasing capacity to meet the rapidly changing needs of today's girls to achieve the goals of program delivery, volunteer management and funding

- Increasing educational programs, including outdoor education, girl safety, science & technology and experiences where girls have expressed an interest

- Reaching out to girls in rural areas and decreasing the barrier of distance for girls to participate in Girl Scout activities and educational programming

- Increasing Girl Scout programming in urban areas and continuing to form partnerships with local community organizations that provide opportunities for under-served families

- Continuing to set the example of leadership and self-determination that are an inherent part of the Girl Scout program.

Girl Scouts "builds girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place" and has served local girls since 1916. Today, Girl Scouts of Northeastern New York is proud to serve over 14,500 girls in 16 counties.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment